Back to top

Awards and Honors


Student and Post Doc Awards:

  • Ethan Degner – 2nd place; Section: MUVE, Mosquitoes 2, “Sperm modification explains female fertility and reproductive behavior in the mosquito Aedes aegypti”; Co-author:  Laura Harrington.
  • John McMullen – 2nd place; Section: PBT, Crop Pests, “Drosophila microbiome-dependent functions: More than the sum of its parts?”; Co-author: Angela Douglas.  
  • Lindsay Fennell – 2nd place; P-IE, Biocontrol, General 2, “Pest management tactics have seasonal impacts on the biological control potential of entomopathogenic fungi”; Co-authors:  John Tooker and Kyle Wickings.
  • Samantha Willden – 1st place; P-IE, Biocontrol Predators, “Efficacy of two predatory mites (Neoseiulus fallacis and Phytoseiulus persimilis) in controlling two-spotted spider mite (Tetranychus urticae) on strawberry grown under low tunnels in New York”; Co-author: Greg Loeb.
  • Laura Figuerora – 1st place; P-IE, Pollinator Health, “Functional traits of wild bees predict pathogen prevalence”; Co-authors: Sally Compton, Heather Grab and Scott McArt.
  • Lindsy Iglesias – 1st place; P-IE, Spotted-Wing Drosophila, “Biorational insecticide evaluation for Drosophila suzukii management in small fruits”; Co-author: Oscar Liburd.
  • Carrie Preston – 2nd place; P-IE, Stink Bugs, “Prevalence of Nosema maddoxi in Halyomorpha halys populations in eastern and western U.S.”; Co-authors:  Ann Hajek and Art Agnello.
  • Silas Bossert, 1st place; SysEB, Wasps and bees, “Combining transcriptomes and ultraconserved elements to illuminate the phylogeny of Apidae”; Co-authors: Elizabeth Murray, Eduardo Almeida, Sean Brady, Bonnie Blaimer, Sophie Cardinal and Bryan Danforth.
  • Kaitlin Deutsch, 1st place; P-IE, Pollination and Parasitoids, “Contrasting effects of landscape context on bee and hover fly pollinator populations”; Co-Authors: Mahilet Kebede, Aaron Iverson and Scott McArt.

Faculty Awards:

  • Elson Shields, was awarded the NYS Excellence in IPM Award from the NYS IPM Program.
  • Ann Hajek became a Fellow of the Entomological Society of America at the 2018 ESA meeting. 
  • Ann Hajek was recently voted a 2018 Fellow of the Entomological Society of America